Search here...
TOP

August 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review

Note: This post may contain affiliate and/or referral links. This means, at no additional cost to you, I may earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Another month – another BoxyCharm review! Welcome to my August 2020 BoxyCharm base box review. This month’s base box had a total value of $186! BoxyCharm is a monthly makeup subscription that costs $25 USD (+$5 shipping if you are in Canada like me). Interested in trying out BoxyCharm? Click here! Interested in watching an unboxing of this month’s box? Click here!

This month’s theme was “Boxy Glamping”. Each month, BoxyCharm gives their base subscribers one choice item in their box. For August, we had the choice between Too Faced Born This Way Super Coverage Concealer, GLAMGLOW MOISTURETRIP Omega Rich Face Moisturizer, QMS Medicosmetics Active Glow Tinted Day Cream, and DR BRANDT pores no more PORE PURIFYING CLEANSER. Keep on reading to find out what products I received in my August 2020 BoxyCharm base box!

GLAMGLOW MOISTURETRIP: Omega-Rich Moisturizer

We are running a little low on moisturizer in our house, so I figured that this would make a good choice item for this month. I am a fan of GLAMGLOW products, but I had never tried a moisturizer from them before. This is a lightweight anti-redness moisturizer with omega-rich cannabis saliva seed oil. The ingredients calms irritation, relieves visible redness, and optimizes your skins barrier defences against environmental assault. Hyaluronic acid hydrates your skin all day long and provides instant relief from skin stress.

This moisturizer is green and has a ‘typical’ cream product scent to it – which is neither pleasant nor unpleasant. I am a big fan of the packaging because it feels so luxurious! I would describe this moisturizer as being a ‘medium weight’ cream. After one use, my skin was left feeling smooth and hydrated. I will personally probably use this moisturizer as a night cream, because I prefer lighter, tackier moisturizers during the day. I don’t deal with redness, so I cannot speak on how this moisturizer affects redness.

COST: USD $54.00 / CAD $75.00 (on Sephora Canada)

Elizabeth Mott Thank Me Later Eye Primer

I have never heard of this brand before, so I was excited to try something new; however, I don’t really use eye primer. I only own one Urban Decay one and I don’t ‘particularly enjoy it, so it just sits in my drawer untouched. This primer is cruelty-free, and claims to dry quickly and transparently for a smooth and even application.

I was pleasantly pleased with this product! It did dry quickly and transparently, and didn’t leave behind any strange residue that primers sometimes do. My eyelids also weren’t left feeling super tacky. My eyeshadow applied nicely and I didn’t notice any creasing. I did not have the opportunity to really test the staying power of this eye primer. A little product goes a long way, and given the price tag on this primer it’s a win in my book.

COST: USD $20.00 / ~ $26 CAD (according to current exchange rate). It does look like this primer was once available for purchase on Amazaon.ca, but at the time of writing this post, it was out of stock.

Morphe ‘Eye Got This’ Brush Set

This brush set contains 4 natural and synthetic eye brushes. It comes with an oval shadow brush, pro firm blending crease brush, tapered mini blender brush, and an angle liner brush. A lot of the brushes that I use are by Morphe, simply because they are affordable. I wouldn’t say they are the best brushes I’ve ever used, but they are good for the price. The ones that I currently own are 3+ years old.

The brushes in this set are definitely softer than any of the Morphe brushes I currently own. Each brush performed will during application. I think of the 4 brushes that came in the set, all but the angle liner brush are a win for me. Simply because I almost never use angle liner brushes, yet they always come in brush sets.

COST: USD $12.00 / CAD $16.00 (on Morphe Canada)

TrèStique Summer Glow + Go Mini Set

This set came with 4 products of their best selling shades in crayon-type applicators. If you watched my YouTube video, you would know I STRUGGLED with this one. In this set was a highlighter, blush, eyeshadow crayon, and micro brow pencil. I will start out by saying that I did not like the crayon-style applicator whatsoever.

The highlighter shade was Maldives Luminescent. This highlighter is really creamy, blendable, and really pretty – but has a little too much glitter for my liking. I actually don’t mind the applicator style on the highlighter.

The blush shade was Moroccan Rose, which is a pale pink matte blush. Like the highlighter, the formula of this blush is really creamy but the pigment is disappointingly dull. It blends out nicely and is easily buildable.

The shadow crayon shade was Tahitian Shimmer. I really did not like use a crayon style applicator on my eyes. Again, the formula was really creamy but the pigment was lacklustre. I didn’t find that this shadow was that easy to blend out.

Last but not least, the micro brow pencil was a pleasant surprise! When I first attempted to swatch this on my arm during my unboxing, it was so unbelievably scratchy. But when applied on the brow, it’s a nice easy application! The colour is also a perfect match for my brows.

COST: USD $42.00 / ~ $56.00 CAD (based on the current exchange rate)

TrèStique Matte for Every Mood Mini Lip Crayon Set

This set comes with 6 mini lip crayons in a a great range of shades. There is a nude (Nantucket Nude), a ‘your lips but better’ rosy dark nude (Florence Fig), a bold fuchsia pink (Barcelona Bright Berry), a true classic red (Chile Red), wearable wine coloured plum (Belize Bordeaux), and a deep neutral red (Tuscan Wine). Upon opening this product, I was really excited with the range of shades. TreStique claims that these lip crayons offers a velvety, buildable colour for a weightless matte finish that lasts all day.

I have to say that I was pretty disappointed in these. Similarly to the Summer Glow + Go set, I don’t like the crayon-style applicator. The pigment is also more lip-stain than lipstick – offering a more subtle, faded colour. The formula is very comfortable and matte, but it settles into the lines in your lips. You can layer the product easily, but it doesn’t offer much in terms of additional colour payoff. It also doesn’t dry down completely matte, and is still transferrable 5 minutes after application.

COST: USD $58.00 / ~ $77.00 CAD (based on the current exchange rate)

Final Thoughts on the August 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box

Overall, this was a ‘meh’ box for me. Wasn’t great, but wasn’t horrible. I am disappointed that I received two items from the same brand. The moisturizer, eye primer, and brushes were a win for me. I don’t mind the treStique products, but they are not my favourite. The total cost of this months box is $186 USD / ~ $250 CAD! I really can’t complain about that.

What did you receive in this months box? Until next time, XX.

Check out my previous BoxyCharm reviews below!

July 2020: https://kassieskorner.com/2020/07/july-2020-boxycharm-base-box-review/

June 2020: https://kassieskorner.com/2020/06/june-2020-boxycharm-base-box-review/

May 2020: https://kassieskorner.com/2020/05/may-2020-boxycharm-base-box-review/

April 2020: https://kassieskorner.com/2020/05/april-2020-boxycharm/

«

»

1 COMMENT

Leave a Reply

Pingback: September 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review - Kassie's Korner on August 16, 2020

be0ee8fd5c66b4c977f91e30a62bd3cc
%d bloggers like this: