Search here...
TOP

July 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review

Note: This post may contain affiliate and/or referral links. This means, at no additional cost to you, I may earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Another month – another BoxyCharm review! Welcome to my July 2020 BoxyCharm base box Review. This month’s base box had a total value of $156! BoxyCharm is a monthly makeup subscription box that costs $25 USD (+ $5.00 shipping if you are in Canada). Interested in trying out BoxyCharm? Click here! Interested in watching an unboxing of this month’s box? Click here!

This month’s theme was “Boxy Sunshine”. Each month, BoxyCharm gives their subscribers a choice item in their box. For July, we had the choice of 111Skin Nac Y2 Pollution Defence Booster, Babe Lash Essential Serum, or The Clean Skin Club Vitamin C Brightening booster. Keep on reading to find out what products I received in my July 2020 BoxyCharm base box!

Ace Beauté Bronzed in Paradise Palette

At first glance, I was disappointed to see another Ace Beauté palette in my BoxyCharm. Not that I don’t like them, but I received an Ace Beauté eyeshadow palette in last month’s box. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see that this was a bronzing palette! I’ve only ever tried out Ace Beauté’s eyeshadow palettes, so I was excited to try out something new.

This bronzer palette contains 4 matte bronzers. The bronzers are all smooth and buttery, and apply beautifully to the face. They also blend out really nicely, which can sometimes be tricky to find in bronzers. This palette is perfect for fair to light-medium skin tones to achieve the perfect “sun-kissed” look. My only con about this palette was the scent; however, I think it may be the packaging rather than the bronzer itself.

COST: USD $30.00 / ~ $40 CAD (based on the current exchange rate)

Hourglass Scattered Light Glitter Eyeshadow

I am a big fan of Hourglass cosmetics face products, so I was excited to try out an eyeshadow. This eyeshadow is marketed as a “weightless refined glitter” that can provide both a delicate glimmer to an intense, prismatic finish. The eyeshadow that I received was Ray. Ray is a super pretty deep champagne eyeshadow with flecks of silver.

I have to say that I don’t think that this eyeshadow is the easiest to apply. It is a little bit messy. Application with a wet brush vs. a clean finger is relatively the same. It is a super pretty shadow. It is a sheer shadow, and isn’t the easiest to build, so if you were looking for a bolder look I would recommend using an additional shadow as a base.

COST: USD $29.00 / CAD $38.00 (on Sephora)

Nudestix Intense Matte Lip + Cheek Pencil

This was probably my least favourite product that I received in my July 2020 BoxyCharm. I received the shade Raven, which is a cool toned plum red colour that will be perfect for fall; however, the shade is not my cup of tea. I also am not a fan of products that claim to be a perfect fit for the lips AND the face.

This pencil applies super creamy on the lips, and sets into a beautiful matte relatively quickly. On the cheek; however, this product is super difficult to blend because it is super pigmented. The colour ended up actually being surprisingly pretty on the face. I think I am going to try and work with this product a little bit more.

COST: USD $26.00 / CAD $32.00 (on Sephora)

Clean Skin Vitamin C Brightening Booster

This was my choice item for this month’s box, but it was a tough choice. All three items were a good pick. This vitamin C booster is a mix of pineapple, watermelon, and green tea extracts to help brighten the complexion, protect the skin from UV rays, and helps reduce signs of aging. You can use this product as a booster by adding a few drops to your serum or cream or as a serum by itself.

First thing’s first – I did not like the scent of this at all! Luckily when applied to the skin the scent is mild and not too overpowering. For testing purposes I tried out this product on its own. My skin soaked this brightening booster right up! It left my skin looking hydrated and feeling smooth. I will definitely be adding this to my regular skincare routine.

COST: USD $49.95 / ~ $67.00 CAD (based on the current exchange rate)

Grace & Stella Anti-Wrinkle + Energizing Under Eye Masks

These eye masks claim to revitalize and rejuvenate tired looking eyes. I was really excited when I opened up the box to discover that there were 12 eye masks inside the box! Talk about your bang for your buck.

These little gold eye masks are not too sticky, and are cooling when applied to the under eye area. But after a little bit, the eye masks do start to slip from place. I left the eye masks on for the allotted 15 minutes. Once removed, my eyes were feeling hydrated but there was not a noticeable difference in terms of appearance. I will definitely continue to use these masks a couple of times a week to see if they do in fact make a difference.

COST: USD $21.00 / CAD $28.00 (on Amazon.ca)

Final Thoughts on the July 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box

Overall, I am satisfied with my July 2020 BoxyCharm box. I will definitely get regular use out of 3/5 products and I don’t dislike the remaining 2. The total cost of this months box is $156 USD / ~ $205 CAD!

What did you receive in this month’s box? Until next time! xox

Check out our other BoxyCharm reviews below:

June 2020: https://kassieskorner.com/2020/06/june-2020-boxycharm-base-box-review/

May 2020: https://kassieskorner.com/2020/05/may-2020-boxycharm-base-box-review/

April 2020: https://kassieskorner.com/2020/05/april-2020-boxycharm/

«

»

2 COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Pingback: August 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review - Kassie's Korner on July 27, 2020

Pingback: September 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review - Kassie's Korner on July 27, 2020

be0ee8fd5c66b4c977f91e30a62bd3cc
%d bloggers like this: