Search here...
TOP

May 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review

Note: This post may contain affiliate and/or referral links. This means, at no additional cost to you, I may earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Another month – another BoxyCharm review! Welcome to my May 2020 BoxyCharm base box Review. This month’s base box had a total value of $159. As a comparison, my May BoxyCharm premium box total value was $167. BoxyCharm is a monthly makeup subscription box that costs $25 USD (+ $5.00 shipping if you are in Canada). BoxyCharm premium is an upgrade that costs an additional $8.00. Interested in trying out BoxyCharm? Click here!

This months theme was Mother Nature. I received an info card in my base box, but not my premium box. I had thought that they stopped including physical copies in order to be more environmentally conscious. so I was a little surprised to receive one. Keep on reading to find out what products I received in my May 2020 BoxyCharm base boxx!

GlamGlow BerryGlow Probiotic Recovery Face Mask

This face mask claims to be a soothing and moisturizing mask that is good for all skin types. A “superfood smoothie for your face” if how GlamGlow describes this mask. I have to say – it definitely looks like a literal smoothie. I can’t say I am crazy about the scent though. It’s not horrible. I just tend to not enjoy berry scents.

This is a quick and easy face mask to do, taking only 10 minutes of your time. It’s not uncomfortable or irritating, and doesn’t require you to sit with your face at an awkward angle like some sheet masks do. As a mom, I liked that I could quickly slather it on my face and get some tasks done while simultaneously soothing and moisturizing my skin. After the 10 minutes were up, my skin felt smooth and clean. This mask was a win in my books! My fiancé also tried it out with me and claims “he think he likes it”. Men.

COST: USD $49.00 / CAD $65.00 (on Sephora)

Ace Beautē Scarlet Dusk Eyeshadow Palette

I received an Ace Beautē eyeshadow palette in a previous BoxyCharm box and I enjoyed it, so I was happy to receive another one this month. The Scarlet Dusk palette is a 12 pan eyeshadow palette with simple, but cute packaging. It is a conveniently small size (but not mini), making it perfect for travel. It has a few beautiful bright shades that are perfect for summer (crimson, maui, pink moon) but also a few solid fall shades (bahamas, aurora, sangria) – making it an extremely versatile palette.

This palette is extremely well balanced with 8 mattes and 4 shimmers (or sparklies according to my fiancé) in it. The shimmers are so so silky, pigmented, and smooth – covering my lid with few pats of my fingers. The mattes are smooth and decently pigmented but not overly pigmented – making it easy to work with. There is such a range of looks you can do with this palette.

COST: USD $34.99 / ~ $48.00 CAD (based on current exchange rate)

Wander Beauty Glow Ahead Illuminating Face Oil

This illuminating face oil claims to bring out your skin’s inner radiance by brightening and moisturizing the face with just a few drops. Glowing and radiant skin is definitely in right now!

This face oil is surprisingly pink and glittery. It doesn’t have the best scent, but it isn’t horrible either. Once applied to the face, it leaves small particles of glitter which I’m not a fan of. It is decently tacky, so it could be used as a base for your makeup but the face oil itself doesn’t leave the skin overly glowy. I definitely think there are better – and cheaper – alternatives out there if you are wanting a product that helps create a glowy base. I will potentially use this on beach/pool days – days when I’m not really wearing makeup – as a little something extra.

COST: USD $42.00 / CAD $50.40 (on Sephora)

Ayam Beautycare Dead Sea Minerals + Vitamin C Serum Makeup Remover Wipes

I was disappointed to receive these in my box this month. First of all, they sent out the makeup eraser the month before – surely I don’t need these? I have been using the makeup eraser for a while now (pre-receiving them in BoxyCharm) in order to cut down on my waste. These makeup wipes say that they help prevent dark spots while simultaneously moisturizing and brightening the skin. There are 25 wipes in a package.

I was actually pleasantly surprised by these wipes. They did a good job of removing my makeup (bright coloured eye shadow and a neon lippie). But what really impressed me was how amazing my skin felt afterwards! It truly felt fresh, silky and smooth.

COST: USD $17.00 / ~ $23.00 CAD (based on current exchange rate)

Gerard Cosmetics Lip Pencil

I received the shade Red Brick Road, which is a deep purple-red colour. I can’t imagine getting much use of this lip pencil anytime soon, since it is more of a deeper fall colour. The lip pencil is decently creamy, but it’s also not the creamiest lip pencil I’ve ever used. This product was a solid meh for me.

COST: USD $16.00 / ~$22.00 CAD (based on current exchange rate)

Final Thoughts on the May 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box

The total value of this month’s box was $159.00 USD / ~ $208.00 CAD. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with this box. When I first opened my box, I was really disappointed. But the palette, mask, and wipes were all wins for me. The face oil and lip liner were okay, but not horrible. But the box itself was definitely worth the $25.00 USD price tag.

What did you get in this months box? Until next month! xx

Check out my April 2020 Base Box review!

«

»

4 COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Pingback: June 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review - Kassie's Korner on May 29, 2020

Pingback: July 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review - Kassie's Korner on May 29, 2020

Pingback: August 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review - Kassie's Korner on May 29, 2020

Pingback: September 2020 BoxyCharm Base Box Review - Kassie's Korner on May 29, 2020

be0ee8fd5c66b4c977f91e30a62bd3cc
%d bloggers like this: